The idea…

Standard

My boyfriend and I love trying new food, and I also love cooking new food. We do sometimes, if we’re working a lot or very busy, slip into the ‘seven dinner slump’. This is where you cook the same dishes over and over in varying orders. I remember reading that for most people in the UK it’s bolognese/lasagne, beef casserole, shepherds pie, some sort of eggs, something with chips and another I forget. I realised ours were Pho, A Turkish chicken and Okra tomato ‘stew’, burritos/fajitas, gnocci, bolognese (but with venison), Massaman curry, (also Durban curry, Keralan curry depending on what I’ve got) and chicken with a warm aubergine ‘salad’ (found in a Turkish cookbook).

I quite liked the fact that ours were a little more ‘global’, but decided that wasn’t good enough, I refused to be stuck in a rut and so I decided to expand my repertoire of recipes from around the world, and to help me keep track I decided alphabetically would probably be best…

Because of money, I probably won’t end up doing a full 3 course dinner for every country, and will sometimes just do lunch or dessert instead (I assure you this is not a slight on those countries or their food, I am big fans of both lunch and especially dessert ;p), but I hope you will enjoy reading how the meals turn out, and get inspired to get out of any culinary ruts you find yourself in, too.

Each post will be very descriptive – this is because I know not everyone is confident when cooking, and when I first started cooking my own meals I used to wish I had lots of photos for reassurance I was doing things ‘right’ (although of course with cooking flavour and looks are very personal) and I didn’t know some things, like that different ovens cook differently at the same temperature, just little things that make a big difference to how meals turn out. So I apologise for anyone who finds them overly – prescriptive, do feel free to alter to your own cooking styles 🙂

Suggestions are also more than welcome!

About fenifur

I Love Writing, Beachcombing, Walking, Dartmoor, Cornwall, Cooking, Archaeology, History, Geneaology, Looking through 18-19thC Newspapers for weird stories, Folklore, Reading and Daydreaming, usually when I'm supposed to be concentrating on something important.

Leave a comment